Home > Crime > Laurean Trial Pushed Back

Laurean Trial Pushed Back

04/13/2010

In what must be a huge disappointment to Maria Lauterbach’s family, Judge Charles Henry rescheduled the murder trial for August 9 in Wayne County.

You may recall Dick McNeil ‘threatened’ the Judge by saying if he didn’t grant the delay Laurean wouldn’t receive a fair trial – words no Judge ever wants to hear!

McNeil slipped in a bathroom in January and underwent knee surgery.  He claims the surgery and physical therapy have caused him to delay preparing a proper defense on Laurean’s behalf.

McNeil also said he just received the DNA – military and state – documents and he needs to to review those because he feels it is crucial to the case.

If you remember, the DNA proved that Laurean was not the father of Maria’s baby.

District Attorney Dewey Hudson claims McNeil had plenty of time to prepare for a June trial.

WNCT

ENC Today

  1. Tezi
    04/13/2010 at 11:13 am

    His knee injury prevents him from reading the documents in discovery? Please….

    I’ve heard just about every excuse now. This one just takes the cake. I think he has no idea on how to defend Cesar, so he asked for this delay. JMO

  2. donchais
    04/13/2010 at 1:19 pm

    IMHO, there is NO defense for Laurean! This is beyond bogus as far as I’m concerned!

    As the DP has been off the table since the murderer was cornered in Mexico, get it over with!

  3. 04/13/2010 at 1:22 pm

    On the flip side, this also gives the state more time to hone their case. The wheels of justice turn slowly, for me that is the most frustrating aspect of our legal system.
    Tezi, I think you hit the nail on the head. How do you defend this killer? The only thing I can think of is they will blame it on Laurean’s wife.

    • donchais
      04/13/2010 at 1:34 pm

      Hi ya!

      The reports of evidence I have seen over the past 3 years (not all picked up by MSM) are pretty solid and damning!

      I do believe Christina Laurean played more than a minor role in this murder and cover-up. Just as I believe she may be prosecuted after Cesar has been put away and the key thrown out…much like we may see with Cindy and George Anthony!!!

  4. Lisanne
    04/14/2010 at 10:27 pm

    Christina HAD to have played some sort of role in all this, and if so I HOPE that she is prosecuted! I have felt all along that she helped commit the murder and there is no doubt in my mind that she helped cover it up (Hello…she helped her husband paint over the blood in the garage!)

    My heart goes out to Maria’s family. The delay must be so hard and frustrating for them.

  5. ritanita
    04/15/2010 at 8:39 am

    Yup! You had to know the judge would have to give them their time. Judges have to bend over backwards so the defendant can have a fair trial. The only trouble is that when the defendant is convicted, the first thing we hear is that the convicted did NOT get a fair trial.

  6. Tezi
    04/15/2010 at 10:49 am

    katfish :
    On the flip side, this also gives the state more time to hone their case. The wheels of justice turn slowly, for me that is the most frustrating aspect of our legal system.
    Tezi, I think you hit the nail on the head. How do you defend this killer? The only thing I can think of is they will blame it on Laurean’s wife.

    Well, I have always thought since this story broke that she had something to do with it. More than just the cover-up. She gave him at least a ten-hour head start before she went to authorities. To me, that’s obstructing justice at the very least. I think she KNEW where he was headed the whole time. I don’t buy her “I didn’t know a thing” act. I think she is in a lot deeper than I even want to imagine. It’s one thing to love someone, it’s totally another thing to try to help that person get away with murder! The only help I’d give a loved one in a situation like that is a ride to the police station.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
