Home > Crime > Vanessa Coleman Verdict In!!! Not Guilty of Much

Vanessa Coleman Verdict In!!! Not Guilty of Much

05/13/2010

The 30-page verdict will be read at 1:00 p.m.

Vanessa is dressed in black shirt and blue slacks!

1:03 pm The Judge took the bench.

1:04 the Jury arrives.

Check back!

Not guilty on the counts for Chris Newsom!

Not guilty on murder count for Channon Christian.

Guilty of facilitation.

Rape – Newsom, not guilty

Rape – Channon, guilty facilitation

Kidnap – Channon, not guilty

Faciltation – guilty

Rape – Newsom not guilty

Nessa is looking pretty pleased.

I’m sick!

Seems like the Jury had a game plan, no charges for Newsom,  but charge facilitation for Channon.

I am devastated for the families and the prosecution.

Check back for updates after I calm down.

Sentencing June 24th.  Check that…it is now July 30th!

My love and prayers are with the Christian and Newsom families!

  1. ritanita
    05/13/2010 at 2:09 pm

    Those facilitation charges carry 15-25 year sentences. If the judge gave her the minimum for all counts concurrently, with parole, she’d be out in virtually no time. If he merges some and stacks, she could be gone for a long time.

    I’m praying the judge makes the right decision.

    This has all made me sick.

    My sympathies go out to the Christian and Newsome families.

  2. donchais
    05/13/2010 at 2:24 pm

    ritanita

    Judge Baumgartner stacked sentences on Thomas and hopefully he puts Nessa away for a very long time!

    She should never be allowed to walk free on the streets again!

  3. tezi
    05/13/2010 at 2:30 pm

    I am sickened by this verdict. No justice for the Newsom family. And very little justice for the Christian family. WTH was this jury thinking?

    The diary did it for me. I knew when they read the little bit that they did, that ‘Nessa was in it up to her eyeballs. Why couldn’t the jury see that?

    • donchais
      05/13/2010 at 2:52 pm

      I don’t know Tezi, but when they asked for a definition of ‘perpetration of a crime’ I was sick. They wanted absolute proof that Vanessa physically did bodily injury. So, in a sick sense they followed a narrow line in determining guilt.

      I’m still trying to take it all in and calm down!

  4. David From TN
    05/13/2010 at 5:30 pm

    As you know, I saw three days of the trial in person last week. I was afraid this would happen. The questions the jury was asking were usually pro-defense (they would hurriedly write them and practically throw the questions at the judge) and some of the expressions I saw make the verdict today not a big surprise to me.

    If you saw the posts I made this morning at the Websleuths Forum, I was warning people of what the jury might decide (or compromise on).

    I am not optimistic about the sentencing. If the sentences are stacked, according to a comment by Knox News reporter Jamie Satterfield, it might total 25 years, but Tennessee procedure discourages stacking sentences when the defendant does not have a long record and is young, which Coleman is.

    Remember, Coleman has already served 3 years in jail and I believe this counts against whatever sentence she gets. I hope not, but she might be paroled after 5-6 years, well before her 30th birthday.

  5. 05/13/2010 at 6:28 pm

    UGH! That’s all I can say for now.

    Well….I should add thanks to you Donchais. I just couldn’t bring myself to watch this so I have looked to you for information.

  6. 05/13/2010 at 6:46 pm

    I would have thought that diary cinched it for her. But not for this jury. Shaking my head hear. Just so sad.

    When you are there in a house when a crime goes down….you are PRESENT during the crime, and you don’t do anything…. I just don’t understand it why they didn’t convict on the more serious charges.

    Lets hope the judge does the right thing. When will she be sentenced donchais?

  7. David From TN
    05/13/2010 at 9:56 pm

    I think the sentencing hearing will be July 30.

  8. ritanita
    05/14/2010 at 9:48 am

    David, I listened to some of the coverage and heard a figure of 15-60 years.

    While the judge does have his limitations and similar charges will be merged, he also can stack dissimilar charges.

    I am hoping that the facilitation of murder is kept on it’s own. The judge can also consider the seriousness of these horrible crimes.

    It’s going to be a long wait until July 30 for us all.

  9. David From TN
    05/14/2010 at 11:10 am

    Ritanita, thanks for your comment. As you write, the judge can consider the horrific nature of the crimes. The jury DID convict her of “Facilitation” which means help or assistance. The next thing to consider is what Coleman was helping and assisting.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
