Home > Crime > Casey Anthony Circus Car – Another Wheel Falls Off

Casey Anthony Circus Car – Another Wheel Falls Off

10/23/2010

I’ve been saying it for months and it came as no surprise to me that Linda Kenney Baden has bid adieu to the Anthony Big Top!

Folks laughed at me when I said LKB would be next, but I never, ever saw a real sense of commitment from her through all the TV appearances.

So the two top defense players hit the trail after their book publicity rounds!  I would bet neither Baden or Lyon had a solid belief in Casey’s innocence.  So much for ‘Junk Science’, we now apparently also have ‘Junk Lawyering’!

In a way, I do feel badly for Casey – she just ended up with the short end of the stick! Lyon gets replaced by Finnell, who doesn’t appear to have a whole lot going other than the movie which was more about her law partner than her and Baden has been replaced by Sims.  Don’t forget, Sims will now be the one to refute the ‘Junk Science’ yet her forte is going after doctors in disability cases!

I have to wonder what was going through her head when she went to the depos at the Body Farm and with Dr. G.  Is she watching streaming video of Quincy ME on her computer to overcome the learning curve?

So, the revolving door just keeps spinning – kinda like a roulette wheel!

The next piece of drama will take place Friday.  Casey, who hasn’t been in court since July, has to attend as Judge Perry will be hearing two motions.

For the third time, Baez is asking Perry to reconsider previous rulings over the public’s access to Anthony’s jail records, such as commissary purchases and visitors logs.  I do recall Judge Perry warning against submitting additional motions on something he had already ruled on.  Baez is of the belief the decision by the Fourth District Court of Appeals should apply to Casey who is in the Fifth District.  As I read the decision, I had serious questions as to whether Casey’s and the Brent case were even similar!

The second pertains to a motion asking for Perry to set a budget for penalty phase costs that new defense lawyer Ann Finnell would incur.  Finnell estimated her costs could reach $20,000.

JAC filed their response motion which was quite direct and blunt.  Pretty much, they made mincemeat out of Finnell’s motion.  Finnell, who has something like 35 years experience, showed some serious arrogance in her filing…she should know JAC rules by now!

Don’t think we’ll hear anything about Jeremy Lyons tampering with witnesses, but that’s a whole other story!

So, grab the drinks and popcorn and settle in for the 1:30 hearing – it ought to be a doozy!

WFTV

Orlando Sentinel

WESH

  1. FRG
    10/23/2010 at 11:40 am

    donchais
    Thanks for the well written article!!!

    These lawyers had their own personal agenda no more than that. The ship is sinking, my dear. They (AL and LKB) say they still are consultant but would you believe their words? When you do believe your client’s innocence you don’t abandon the ship. Money was never an issue, was it? LKB thinks we are idiots and believe JAC is to blame!!! Seriously???

    I do believe we will be seeing more of these blood suckers when the trial starts, they will be commenting on National Media, I am not sure if there is a law against it… I believe not, CM was babbling about the case before he decided to join the sinking team. Books will be written.

    KC is being used and she thought she was really special, didn’t she?

    Justice will prevail and Caylee will have her justice.

    As far as the hearing next Friday, I am confused because I read an article by RH and it seems there is an exception to the rule when it comes to release jail records, commissary order and jail logs, I hope not, you know why? JS was so fair and ruled against it twice and it would give an opportunity to bring more of his rulings back to the table… but I am not a lawyer so we will see.

    I will bring the popcorn and also aspirin because we are stuck with babbling JB and CM, aren’t we?

    What do you think, will CM stay untill trial?

  2. donchais
    10/23/2010 at 11:51 am

    AL and LKB say they still are consultants? I doubt it, lol.

    What I picked up on in the release of records ruling was Brent was a minor. Casey was an adult when arrested so I’m not sure if the ruling applies to her. If Perry rules against it, then it will head to the Fifth District Appeals Court. This may go on for a while!

    Like I said, this ought to be a doozy of a hearing.

    In my humble opinion, if JAC and Perry spank Finnell and tell her Jose has to pay her expenses, she’ll be the next out the door when Baez tells her he has no money!

  3. FRG
    10/23/2010 at 12:10 pm

    donchais

    Thanks for the explanation. This will be a drag!!! LOL

    I am not sure what JP will do about paying Finnel’s expenses… maybe he will set a reasonable amount. I remember at the indigency hearing that JP overruled (is this the proper word?) a lot of JAC’s objections. I hope he tells JB to pay for her expenses, that would be funny!!!!

    I have a question, is this Finnel really needed? Can’t CM do her job?

  4. Angel Eyes
    10/23/2010 at 12:44 pm

    Nice Article!

    With all these top knotch lawyers leaving doesn’t come as a shock. These lawyers that have jumped off the now sinking boat have been lawyering long enough to know the rules of JAC! I totally agree with you FRG if you believe in your client’s innocence why the heck are you not going to defend her to the end. I do not for a minute feel sorry for Casey at all. She should have just confessed from the beginning and none of this would be playing out the way it is. Justice and Karma are very powerful words and these two words is what we are seeing unfold!! Imo

  5. donchais
    10/23/2010 at 3:23 pm

    Thanks Angel Eyes, glad you stopped by!

    FRG the biggest issue JAC has with paying Finnell’s ‘expenses’- hotel, travel, meals, etc is that they consider that an unfair burden on Florida taxpayers because Casey retained Baez as a ‘private’ attorney. Don’t forget there was some $300k and little to no accounting (recall Perry said the accounting was pretty thin!). Baez ain’t no record keeper as far as we know!

    Supposedly AL got $70k and Baez admitted to around $90k. That leaves a whole lot of money somewhere and JAC feels that’s why Baez should pay Finnell’s expenses!

    Mason is qualified, but seriously lacking in expertise. Is Finnell any better? Guess it depends on your point of view!

    When this case goes to appeal (and it will) I can’t wait for the forensic accounting of Baez’s books! Let’s see, fancy suits, Italian shoes, vacation to Paris, iPad…this list just goes on and on!

  6. FRG
    10/23/2010 at 3:35 pm

    donchais

    Good points!!! I was sure that JB had accounted for all of the money, I am surprised he didn’t. I thought he would send these records directly to JAC and we were not allowed to see it. That’s pretty lame, isn’t it? I also agree that it is a burden on taxpayers.

    I had no idea that JB had to show his books if there is an appeal!

    I think you forgot something on your list, JB made no payments on his mortgage. What’s worth to have fancy suits and Italian shoes if are homeless right? LOL!!!!

  7. donchais
    10/23/2010 at 4:43 pm

    FRG just think, ineffectual counsel!

  8. Ritanita
    10/23/2010 at 5:59 pm

    One thing I won’t miss. Linda Kenney-Baden’s rapid fire speech which leaves one with a TERRIBLE headache.

  9. merker
    10/23/2010 at 9:36 pm

    Finnell is next to leave…I could be wrong..jmo
    Cheney is DP qualified and he has dove in;)
    lol

  10. FRG
    10/23/2010 at 10:52 pm

    Donchais
    The courtroom is way lighter now that AL and LKB have stepped down, if you know what I mean? LOL

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
