Home > Crime > Petit Family – Death Sentence Handed Down

Petit Family – Death Sentence Handed Down

12/03/2010

Jennifer Hawke-Petit

Yesterday, New Haven Superior Court Judge Jon Blue imposed the death sentence that jurors agreed upon last month.  Steven Hayes, 47, was convicted in October of 16 of the 17 charges against him, which included murder, capital murder and kidnapping. Jennifer Hawke-Petit, 48, 17-year-old Hayley Petit and 11-year-old Michaela Petit all died in the Cheshire, CT home invasion.

“This is a terrible sentence,” Blue told Hayes. “But in truth, it is a sentence you wrote for yourself in flames on July 23, 2007.”

In his impact statement, Dr. William Petit said the crime on his family was like, “a bomb going off in your house.”

Hayley Petit

Dr. Petit remembers the look on his father’s face when he asked about his girls, “He just shook his head from side to side and sobbed … Our home was no more.”

Hayes told the court that death will be a relief“I am deeply sorry for what I’ve done. “… I stand before the court as Steven Hayes, convicted murderer, but that is not the real Steven Hayes.”

“I destroyed innocent lives and took away a family. I did what I did, and live with it … I was an out-of-control train destined to crash. The death I wanted was my own, not the death of others.”

Dr. Petit said, “I miss my entire family, everything we had together,” he said. “… They were three special people. My children were my jewels.” He said he will never get to walk his daughters down the aisle, or meet his grandchildren. Now, he said, he is left to deal with “a giant hole in the universe, in my heart.”

Michaela Petit

“I lost my entire family,” he said. “… I lost my past and my future.”

“Evil does exist, and it can strike at any time … Evil is among us, and we need to rid the world of it.”

The Petit and Hawke families cried and embraced after the sentence was handed down.

Hayes’ official execution date is May 27, 2011.  If Hayes doesn’t waive some or all of his appeals, it could possibly be decades before he is put to death.

Impact Statement of Dr. William Petit

Impact Statement by William Petit, Sr

CNN

WTIC

Hartford Courant

  1. Ritanita
    12/03/2010 at 8:32 am

    Sometimes there is justice. But no amount of justice will heal Dr. Petit and the entire family.

  2. David In TN
    12/04/2010 at 12:05 pm

    Since Hayes says he wants death, let’s see if he waives his appeals.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
