Home > Crime > Casey Anthony – The State Rests

Casey Anthony – The State Rests

06/15/2011

August 2005 ~ June 2008

Today, the State will rest and I assume some housekeeping will be done, but expect an abbreviated session because the defense doesn’t quite have their act together!

We also know that the good Judge is royally ticked-off at the defense for their lying and bad behavior.   You would think after the Judge bending over backwards, giving them a ton of leeway and even schooling them in law, the defense would have the sense not to bite the hand that feeds them!  When Judge Perry said, “I will take it that I cannot trust one thing that your side says anymore”, they pretty much sealed their fate!

Baez even got snippy with Linda Drane Burdick yesterday when she asked who the defense would be calling tomorrow so they could be prepared.  Remember Baez whining that he wanted to know the order the State would call their witnesses so he would be at a disadvantage?  Well, Mr. Baez almost yelled to Linda that he didn’t have to answer her and Linda shot back, “oh, yes you do!”

So, nerves are frayed and the kid gloves have been taken off!

Casey appeared and then was taken back to the holding area, seems there is a pow-wow in chambers and even the court reporter went in.

9:13 Judge Perry takes the bench.

Stipulation as to the tattoo translating to ‘beautiful life’.

Two items are entered into evidence by the State, two pieces of trunk carpet stored in metal cans by CSI Vincent.

Mason complains that when the jury asked to view the heart sticker, he feels they may have been discussing the case when they shouldn’t have.

Not an issue!

Judge Perry reads the tattoo stipulation to the jury.

Linda Burdick announces the State rests!

Judge Perry releases the jury for the day while some lengthy legal matters are taken up.

I’d be annoyed if I was on the jury, lol.

Mason at the podium saying now that the State has presented their evidence, they have the right to ask for a judgement acquittal.

The defense didn’t submit their motion and paperwork until this morning and Judge Perry hasn’t had the opportunity to review.  The State, on the other hand, submitted their paperwork on Monday.

Mason is reading law to the court.  He takes issue with Dr. G using the word homicide and it was only speculation on her part, the State has no idea when Caylee died, how she died, or if there was a murder at all!  There has been no evidence of premeditated murder.

All the witnesses said Casey was a kind, loving mother.  There was no history of torture or extreme discipline By Casey toward Caylee.  The State alluded to the use of chloroform and duct tape.  Aggravated child abuse must be adjudicated.

Aggravated manslaughter of a child.  Not proven by the State!

No evidence, none, as to the cause of this child’s death!

Now he’s back on the Miranda issue and was surrounded by big burly cops and was placed in the cage in the police car…yada, yada, yada.

Kinda ironic that Mason is preaching law to Judge Perry, a man who knows law inside and out and can run circles around the entire defense team!

Bottom line, Mason is trashing every piece of evidence presented in the case and just said the only person who had access to the duct tape was George.  He claims the State’s case was pretty much a fairy tale.

Judge Perry asked about his reference to accidental death and where in the record he can find that?

It isn’t in the record, but was brought up at sidebar!

No murder, no premeditation, no history of aggravated abuse screams for judgement of acquittal.

Linda Burdick say the statements by Casey that Zenaida Gonzalez kidnapped the child and the evidence of the case proves otherwise.

The accidental theory to be presented has been negated by Dr. G.  This was not an accident.

The witness to the accident, George Anthony has rebutted that story.

A reasonable jury can conclude the chloroform and duct tape could be the cause of death especially when combined with the trunk evidence.

A whole lot of case-law is being referenced here and I’m not following all of it.

This was a premeditated  intentional act by the defendant to inflict this child’s death and the State requests the judgement of acquittal be denied.

Mason says there was no chloroform related to the child’s death!

The claims of the duct tape are bogus.  There is no evidence it had anything to do with the death or with Casey Marie Anthony!

Judge Perry calls a 45 minute recess, but adds he has already read most of the cases cited as well as the testimony!

Frankly, I don’t see Judge Perry granting the defense a  judgement of acquittal!

Judge Perry cites a truckload of law and then rules a judgment of acquittal is denied!

Court in recess until 9am!

So tomorrow we will see the defense’s case.  They will begin to attempt to free Casey Anthony on the third anniversary of little Caylee’s death.  The irony is rich indeed!

  1. Golfing Granny
    06/15/2011 at 11:51 am

    Wow I just love getting an up to date synopsis of the proceedings. Concise and to the point without all the BS in between. Thankful I found this site. I’ll be golfing tomorrow but expect to DVR the whole day. Much better to flip past commercials and other comments.

  2. Kim
    06/15/2011 at 11:53 am

    DENIED! DENIED! DENIED!

    Judge Perry is so very thorough!

  3. donchais
    06/15/2011 at 11:57 am

    Thanks Golfing Granny! Shoot a hole in one for Caylee!

    Kim, I luvs me some Judge Perry!

  4. Kim
    06/15/2011 at 12:03 pm

    Between Judge Perry, LDB and JA the brain power in that room is overwhelming!!

  5. Golfing Granny
    06/15/2011 at 12:27 pm

    haha I don’t know – I’ve had 4 holes in one in my lifetime, that’s probably all I’ll get. But maybe for little Caylee I’ll try very hard.

  6. Teresa
    06/15/2011 at 1:52 pm

    Ok so we can only hope and pray Casey won’t be golfing with OJ anytime soon…,(yes I know OJ is in jail right now)

  7. donchais
    06/15/2011 at 2:09 pm

    LOL, Teresa!

  8. Golfing Granny
    06/15/2011 at 2:28 pm

    Oh that’s a good one Teresa!!! – they might make great cellmates!!!

  9. 06/15/2011 at 5:11 pm

    Linda Kenny Bodden doesn’t like Judge Perry. She thinks he’s been unfair to the defense. I haven’t been able to stand her since the Spector trial. I realize people deserve a defense but some of these people make things up.
    Sounds like Poptart is going to throw everything including the kitchen sink tomorrow. I wonder if Judge Perry will rein him in. Have you heard about Vasco Dagama Thompson?

  10. Linda
    06/15/2011 at 5:35 pm

    Your coverage of this trial has been very thorough (your puns are especially appreciated given this past week’s brutal forensic testimony.) I read your blog every day. I am curious also to see what kind of defense this bunch provides. It should be interesting to say the least! Question: Was there ever a response from the defense to Linda D Burdick’s question about witnesses for tomorrow? This trial has certainly been riveting. I’m hoping that the jury can see what the evidence so clearly proves. I am a fan of the Investigation Discovery Channel, and I have seen some trial outcomes that have completely floored me from a “not guilty” standpoint. I just pray that Caylee gets justice, and this monster pays for her crimes.

  11. donchais
    06/15/2011 at 5:52 pm

    Hey Maria, throwing everything is an understatement! The defense is imploding and desperate. The Vasco thing is just nuts and Florida paid for Jeremy Lyons to go investigate!!!! I doubt Judge Perry lets that in.

    Thanks Linda! I can’t wait to see the circus the defense presents! If tomorrow’s witness list wasn’t turned over, I’m sure Linda would have been all over that today, like white on rice!

  12. 06/15/2011 at 6:45 pm

    I was, frankly, astounded that Mason would ‘launch’ about how this had nothing to do with Casey Marie Anthony, as if he was presenting to the jury… well, if it had nothing to do with her, why didn’t she say so? I haven’t heard her denying anything – all I’ve heard are stories about Other People. I never have heard her say “I did not kill my little girl.” Or even, “I did not kill Caylee.”

    Anyone else? Has anyone EVER heard her say that on tape or in an interview?

    Believe me, if I was being accused, you can bet your bippy I would say something to change their point of view…. like “Hell, no, I didn’t kill __________!”

    Perhaps that would be something for the prosecution to point out…..

  13. donchais
    06/15/2011 at 7:01 pm

    Hi Sandy, It was astounding! Frankly, I’m on the edge of my seat waiting for the defense’s case. Now that will be astounding!

  14. Evelyn
    06/15/2011 at 7:25 pm

    I am having trouble refraining myself from throwing a shoe through my tv whenever Linda K. Badden in on.

  15. David In Tennessee
    06/16/2011 at 12:01 am

    Linda Kenney Baden was on Tru TV’s In Session this morning. I saw her criticize Judge Perry for playing to the TV cameras and being pro-prosecution.

    If you were standing between LKB and a TV camera you would be in danger of being trampled.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
