Home > Crime > Thomas Mortimer Pleads Guilty To Horrific Murders

Thomas Mortimer Pleads Guilty To Horrific Murders

10/03/2012

Mortimer showed no emotion today as he admitted to murdering his wife, 41-year-old Laura Stone Mortimer; 2-year-old Charlotte Mortimer and 4-year-old Thomas “Finn” Mortimer V; and his mother-in-law, 64-year-old Ragna Ellen Stone. Prosecutors described the violence his four victims suffered, a gruesome story that included the number of stab wounds suffered by each victim.

Debra Stone-Sochat, Laura’s sister and Ragna’s daughter, struggled through tears today as she confronted Thomas Mortimer IV.  “My family has suffered an enormous tragedy. My life, my family’s life, my children’s life, has been so affected. My children wonder why they can’t have play dates with Charlotte and Finn,’’ Stone-Sochat said. “My mom and my sister were my best friends. It is difficult to find joy when the sadness is so overwhelming.’’

After entering the home, authorities discovered the horrific slaying field as well as several versions of written confessions Mortimer left before fleeing the area…“What I have done is extremely selfish and cowardly.”  He described cutting his children’s throats and stabbing his wife and mother-in-law.

He described exploding into a homicidal rage after arguing with his wife over a $2,499 check he wrote to the IRS that bounced.  He had been unemployed for a time, but had recently found work that appeared promising.

“I took the easy way out. … I am ashamed, frightened, relieved, surprised that I murdered my family, disgusted with myself.’’

In the most chilling section of his confession Mortimer said that his small son, young Finn,  had witnessed portions of the murders before he was killed.  “I expecially [sic] sorry to Finn that he had to witness these horrid acts,” Mortimer wrote. “It was not supposed to be this way.”

Superior Court Judge S. Jane Haggerty sentenced Mortimer on four counts of murder to mandatory life in prison without the possibility of parole, before he was led away in handcuffs.

Mortimer gave up his right to appeal by entering the plea.

My thoughts and prayers are with Charlotte, Finn, Laura and Edna and I’m thankful Debra and her family do not have to suffer through a prolonged trial…May they all be at peace.

NBC Connecticut

CBS

Boston.com

  1. Anonymous
    10/04/2012 at 5:20 am

    I am relieved for the family as well. As for Mortimer, he can just rot in prison for the rest of his waste of a life.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
