Home > Crime > Jodi Arias Murder Trial – Day Eight

Jodi Arias Murder Trial – Day Eight

01/16/2013

It was another blockbuster day.  The video of the interview with Det. Flores was the highlight for me.

Have to say Det Flores is masterful in questioning the subject.  His patience know no bounds.  It’s like watching a slow dance where he skillfully makes the subject comfortable and gets her talking, then goes in for the kill.  The only problem is we’re talking about Jodi Arias and she sure knows how to lie.

Funny, Arias does weave some truth into her fantastical stories.  While claiming intruders broke in, she managed to get in one had a gun, the other a knife, and all the while Travis is bleeding all over the place.  That describes the entire crime scene!

It’s just fascinating to watch.

What is scary is how anxious she is to view the crime scene photos and even asks how many times Travis was stabbed.  Sick, no?

Court begins 12:47 EST

Screen shot 2013-01-16 at 1.34.28 PMMichael Galieti is called.  Cottonwood Heights, Utah PD.

June 2008 he was working for West Jordan PD patrol.

June 5th he made traffic stop at 12:02.  It was a white Ford Focus, Jodi’s rental.

The rear license plate was upside down.  He identifies Jodi in court.

Jodi told him her friends must have been playing a joke on her.

He recalls Ryan pulling over in front of Jodi’s car.

Jodi acted surprised that the plate was upside down.

Nurmi on cross…

You made the stop because the license plate was upside down?  Correct.

No other reason?  No.

Was it a busy street?  Yes, three lanes.

Three lanes or three lanes in each direction?  3 in each direction.

What lane where you in?  I don’t remember.

Nurmi is blathering on and on as usual and getting a whole lot of nothing.

State calls Rafael Colombo.  Budget rental car agent.

Agency is in Redding, Ca…90 miles south of Yreka.

June 2, 2008, Jodi rented the Ford Focus.  She needed a valid license and a credit car to rent.

He identifies Jodi in court.

Jodi called to confirm the rental prior to arriving.

He asked where she was headed and she said she was just going around town, locally.

Say, is 2800 miles local?

He offered a red car and she wanted something lighter.

He said Arias had blonde hair back then.

The car was rented with unlimited miles.

The 2834 miles struck him odd and he asked her about it and she said she decided to take a longer trip.

Colombo did the inspection of the vehicle when it was returned.

The interior back seat had stains that appeared to be Kool Aid stains…same with the front seat.

Hmmm, what color Kool Aid?

All the floor mats were missing!

Wish they had asked why the floor mats were missing and what her response was.  Assume they must have charged her for them.

Nurmi on cross…

You do business as Budget, but you don’t work for them directly?  Correct.

You had about a fifteen-minute interaction with her?  Yes.

She wasn’t invasive in any way during your conversation?  No.

Other than Jodi rented the car, had blonde hair, and drove over 2800 miles, this is pretty much a waste!

A photo of Jodi’s license is shown.  She has blond hair and the address is a PO box.

Det. Esteban Flores is recalled.

More video!

Everything we have belongs to Jodi, nobody else. Screen shot 2013-01-16 at 1.22.59 PM

What is my motive?

Check out how Jodi is sitting curled-up in self-protection mode.

Anger, fear, jealousy.  I don’t know, there are so many motives with you.

I wasn’t jealous of anything.  Well maybe Cancun, but I could go to Cancun if I wanted to.

You shot him.  You stabbed him several times.  Jodi, tell me the truth please?  We can stop or do you want to tell me the truth?

What did you do with the gun?  I never had it in my possession.

But you had it.

I don’t think I ever fired a gun.  I’ve done bows and arrows and water guns.

So, you’re going to tell me you didn’t do this?  I would never kill Travis.

I don’t think I could stab him.  I would use a gun over and over again till he was dead.  If I would have done it I would have had gloves, not that I’m worried about fingerprints.

I would shoot him to make it more humane!

Flores tells her he gave her an opportunity and she gave him a story that was not plausible.  The evidence tells a story and what you told me doesn’t match.

You want to stop here?  I didn’t take Travis’ life.

I don’t believe you.  I know you don’t.

You ready to go back?  Yeah, I would still like to say something to the family.  Maybe I could write them a letter.

I can’t give you their address, but they know where you are if they want to contact you.

You sure you want to leave it like this?  There’s nothing more to say.

Next time I see you will be in Phoenix.  Do I have a choice?

I just don’t want my family to get hurt.  We won’t let them get hurt.

Going back to the intruders saw her address and said  they would come after her and her family if she opened her mouth.

Nurmi on cross…

You and I talked about your interview with Ms. Arias on July 15, do you remember that?  Yes, I do.

You told Ms. Arias, Travis wasn’t the person he portrayed himself to be and talked about how they had to keep their relationship secret?  Yes.

Mr. Martinez talked to you about interview/interrogation techniques?  Yes.

You’ve been trained in interviews techniques during your 19 years in LE?  Yes.

Nurmi makes him list what courses he took.

Flores says with a witness, you want to find out what they remember or saw.  With a suspect it’s a bit different.

Flores says with Jodi he used pieces of evidence they had collected.

Several questions he asked were to play on her emotions.

So she was emotional?  No, she wasn’t.

Recall asking her if she went there to party and something got out of hand?  Yes, I do.

Well, what kind of question was that?  It was a theme.

How many interrogations have you conducted over the years?  I don’t know, hundreds.

Thousands?  Could be.

When people lie, they throw some truth in there?  Yes.

And Jodi has done this big time!!!

Well, Nurmi has accomplished educating the jury on good interrogation techniques!

You attempted to find the gun and knife?  Yes, we didn’t find them.

You searched in the yard for the weapons?  Yes.

You search the neighborhood?  No, we had nowhere to go.

We did recover several knives from the kitchen, a butcher block was retrieved and some knives in the dishwasher, but none matched to the crime.

Nurmi wastes so much time spinning wheels, but I guess he has to act like he’s doing his job.

Oh, and someone should tell him his shirt isn’t tucked-in and is hanging below the back of his jacket, lol!

Judge Stephens calls lunch.

Court resumes at 3:46 and the Judge calls them to the bench!

Det. Flores is back.

Nurmi is playing back some video.

Flores asks what kept her in Mesa after the breakup. She says it was always a long distance relationship but she had plans in the works to moving to Mesa for a time.

She claims Travis was persuasive about her living in Mesa and all the advantages the area had.

The roommate she moved in with then got married and basically told her she couldn’t live there anymore.

She then throws out a bunch of other names of people she was going to move in with and goes on about Mormon rules.

At the end, did you hear the name Lisa?  Yes.

You interviewed Lisa Andrews about the threatening email and tire slashing? Yes.

Mr. Travis was dating Lisa and Jodi at the same time?  I don’t know, you would have to ask Ms. Andrews.

You told Ms. Arias you did not see a cold-blooded murder?  Yes.

Was that technique?  Yes.

Ms. Arias told you she wouldn’t murder Travis and you said you didn’t think she would.  Was that technique?  Yes.

You were interviewed by 48 Hours.  Yes.

Did you use technique with them?  No.

Why did you repeat some in the interview?  It wasn’t technique it was what I believed.

Nurmi brings up the some truth in lies.

Gets to Jodi saying there was a gun, knife, and Travis was bleeding all over the place.

What so far, has the defense done to advance the abuse and domestic violence theory?  Sorry, but their performance is just sad.

Martinez does great redirect, but it’s all a rehash of what has been covered over the weeks.

Martinez is going after the fact Nurmi keeps trying to attack Flores’ investigation and techniques.

Nurmi again…

Nurmi keeps slipping in crap that never happened in hopes Flores bites.

Jury questions…

Were any knives missing from the house?  Not that we found.

Was the gun used to kill Mr. Alexander found on Ms. Arias?  No.

Did the roommates express concern Mr. Alexander was missing for so long?  They thought he was in Mexico already.

Was the BMW that Mr. Alexander had ever searched?  No.

Holy cow!  Judge calls it a day for the jury at 4:19 EST.

Ahhh, we are back to the Judge Duncan transcript and calls for today’s pre-packaged mistrial motion!

Seems defense thinks Melendez was untruthful about the text messages on Travis’s cell.

Cripes, there was no software to download the text messages.  We’ve been here and done this before!

Defense is again pushing the prosecution withheld evidence and there is misconduct.

Martinez says he provided the defendant’s camera as asked.

Lisa Andrews was to be called by the prosecution and defense says the contact information they have is over a year old.

Marie Hall and Lisa both mentioned stalking, but it was the defense that brought that up in opening arguments, not the prosecution.

Martinez decided not to call Lisa because if there was a conviction it could be misinterpreted on review.

Nurmi says tough, we are going to call her.

Martinez says he will call Lisa and tell her she remains a witness and will provide the defense with current contact info.

Defense will provide the Melendez transcripts tomorrow for Judge to review.

And that’s it for today!  Rumor has it that due to scheduling issues, next week may only be two days!

  1. ritanita
    01/16/2013 at 5:59 pm

    Donchais, I had such a day of CATastrophes and missed bits and pieces here and there, especially at the very end.

    I don’t know how to thank you enough for putting the bits and pieces together for me.

    Is it me or is Nurmi confusing the 3 days AT&T keeps messages and the fact that they were on the phone and irretrievable? Doesn’t he understand that he received the messages as soon as the technology became available to download them? Or did he really expect LE to spend 8 months photographing them? Hello? Anybody home?

    My heart goes out to Lisa Andrews. I can understand why she doesn’t want to testify. Nurmi will attempt to make mincemeat out of her. However, I trust Martinez to eviscerate the stuff he wants to do in direct examination and re-direct. He’s done that with every other witness.

    I missed all but the last jury question. Reading them here, I don’t feel they give us any direction as to where the jury is going. None of them indicated anything to do with the concept of self-defense. In fact, the fact that there seemed to be no knives missing from the house bodes ill for Jodi.

    The jury can’t even consider that the “ninjas” did it because Jodi admitted to killing Travis.

    • donchais
      01/16/2013 at 6:15 pm

      Sorry for your CATastrophes and hope all is resolving.

      You are more than welcome and hope you were able to make sense of the pieces you were missing.

      As to Nurmi and the cell phone…I really don’t believe he knows what he is talking about. He’s like a dog worrying a bone. The same bone we’ve tossed out before!

      Yes, shame Lisa is going to be dragged in, but I agree Martinez will quickly shut-down Nurmi’s nonsense.

      Have a great evening!

  2. John
    01/17/2013 at 12:41 am

    This site is the BEST! Miss the trial because of work,but able to catch up with detailed coverage…..thanks so much for posting! The case is fascinating and totally agree with your opinion of the defense.Not much there!!!

    • donchais
      01/17/2013 at 7:51 am

      Thanks for the kind words and welcome to CFJ! Probably one of the most fascinating cases in all facets!

  3. Dramsop
    01/17/2013 at 1:52 am

    I’m confused!! Why is this jury asking questions about Travis’ car and roomates??? How are either of those questions relevant to anything? Did they sleep through the part where Arias already admitted she killed him? It’s as if they are trying to dispute her confession. Is this jury from Florida? This is beginning to sound very familiar and very disturbing. Please if you can, help me make sense of why they are even asking those questions?

    • donchais
      01/17/2013 at 7:57 am

      Hi, welcome to CFJ!

      The only mention of Jodi admitted she killed Travis was the defense opening statements…she has never admitted that to police, only her lawyers.

      You never know what a person is going to focus on because they ‘think’ the heard something. The question about the car might be because Travis had sold it to Jodi. The roommates is a question tons of folks ask about. They were both away at the time and thought Travis had left for Mexico already.

      The neat thing is, Arizona is one of three states that allow jury questions. I like the idea the witness can clear up any misunderstanding on the jury’s part!

  4. Dramsop
    01/17/2013 at 10:11 am

    Thanks donchais! That helps me understand the questions a bit better. I think it’s good they can ask them, too. And at least they ARE asking them, I guess….I’m just really concerned this could go the way of the Anthony trial. I followed that (and your site, too! Though I never left a comment) and I’m still not fully recovered from that shock! I do think your site and comments are fantastic! Thanks for doing this!! Here’s hoping justice will prevail in this case.

    • donchais
      01/17/2013 at 10:26 am

      You are more than welcome. The Anthony case is something I don’t think we’ll ever recover from, but that case was circumstantial (a great case, in my opinion), this case has so much forensic evidence that is hard to ignore.

      In defense of the jury questions, I can just say I struggle to watch, listen, and type. I sure miss stuff as I believe some jurors do.

      Thanks for your kind words.

  5. Pam
    01/17/2013 at 11:06 am

    Thank you for your great reporting and re-capping the trial. I am unable to watch because of work. I find this trial interesting and fascinating and am sure hoping it does not go the way of the C A trial. Your interjections are good too. Thank you for taking the time.

    • donchais
      01/17/2013 at 11:20 am

      Thanks so much Pam, glad you enjoy!

  6. Denise
    01/22/2013 at 1:49 pm

    Jodi Arias really makes me sick…she is a twisted stalker who could not take being rejected…this poor me I was abused crap doesnt fly with me..she stabbed and KEPT STABBING(thats a crazy woman scorned)…and then shot him in the head just as a final FU gesture…shes crazy…and a liar….I hope she gets exactly whats coming to her…

    • donchais
      01/22/2013 at 1:56 pm

      I can’t wait for the defense to begin on Monday. They sure as heck can’t have much and what they have will be lies from Jodi Arias!!! I’ve little doubt Juan Martinez will make mincemeat out of whomever they put on the stand!

  7. MSparks
    01/24/2013 at 3:44 pm

    There is still not enough to convict her by everything I’m reading. Lying or mixing up the story doesn’t make her guilty, Her confession may be attorney duress. Her DNA, even blood in the bathroom means nothing. My thing is : where are the weapons? And how can we justify this petite girl dragging his dead and bleeding body all over that apartment.

    • Denise
      01/24/2013 at 8:35 pm

      I will totally tell you how this petite girl did it…she caught him totally unguarded after she had SEX WITH HIM and then she gutted him like a pig while he was taking a shower…shes an evil,vindictive liar…I hope she gets whats coming to her…she deserves the death penalty

      • donchais
        01/24/2013 at 8:43 pm

        well, that says it all! thanks!

  8. donchais
    01/24/2013 at 5:35 pm

    Confession, attorney duress??? You must be joking!!! The body was NOT dragged ALL OVER THE APARTMENT!!! Pay closer attention to the facts!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
