Home > Crime > Christian-Newsom – Vanessa Coleman Sentenced Again

Christian-Newsom – Vanessa Coleman Sentenced Again

02/01/2013

Paperwork submitted to the court on Coleman’s behalf still refer to her a scared little 18 year old who feared for her life.  She’s been a good girl in jail taking classes and her head is cleared of drugs, therefore the judge should be lenient in sentencing.

Naturally the State wants the max, as do the Christian and Newsom families.

She probably won’t get a repeat of the 53 years she received at the first trial because the second jury was a little softer on some of the charges.

The Newsom and Christians are in court.

Judge Blackwood on the bench.

Screen shot 2013-02-01 at 12.05.03 PMColeman brought in.

Deena Christian gives her impact statement.

She says no parent should have to bury a child.

No one should ever have to see the violent images that are in my head.

Channon loved life.

She was ethical, honest, loyal to a fault.

Channon and I were more than mother and daughter. We were good friends.

As parents, we’re supposed to protect our children.  I feel I failed her.

Our family will never be whole again.

Neither Channon nor Chris did anything to deserve this.

My perfect family is broken.

Deena tells Vanessa you were no victim, you chose to stay. You are evil.

She pleads with the court to do the right thing and give the maximum sentence.

Vanessa deserves no mercy.

Gary on the stand.

Channon was a beautiful girl.

Says the defense attorneys stood in court and lied about Channon and Chris.

They were allowed to lie and we were told we couldn’t cry as the gruesome photos were shown in court.

I’ve sat through two trials and I can’t believe how many excuses two attorneys could come up with.

You were found guilty not by 12 people, but 24.

You saw nothing and did nothing.

In the words of the lawyers, law enforcement and the ME, this was the most brutal crime in the State.

Not once, in any interview did Vanessa Coleman ever state she asked them to stop.

And then they ran to Kentucky.  Why didn’t she run to the police?

The court is being asked to be lenient because she went to drug rehab and anger management class.

Go to anger management class? For a brutal murder?

Anger management class ain’t going to help me.

I wish I had gotten there sooner, but it wasn’t soon enough.

In one of the pictures Channon died with her eyes open.  All I see if fear.

I have a clear understanding of hate.

Anyone with half a brain would have gotten away from those people.

I will never be the man I used to be.

I hate the fact you were born.  I hate the fact that you draw air.

I’ll never get to walk my daughter down the aisle.  I’ll never hold my grandchildren because of you.

I never heard any of the swine that took my child say I’m sorry or show remorse.

I am left with memories and hate.  I will not forgive or forget.

I ask this court to put her away, give her what she deserves and mercy ain’t part of it.

Price up for the State:

State asks for 49 years and six months with enhancements and asks for consecutive sentences.

Leland Price says her use of illegal drugs should carry great weight.

Cruelty should been given great weight.

Her behavior indicates she has no regard for humane life.

Price is shredding the defense mitigation factors.

Lavit for defense says she was being held captive.

She didn’t inflict cruelty.

She did not actively participate.

It’s quite leap if faith for the State to say because she was there, she participated.

Coleman does not meet the definition of a dangerous offender.

I so dislike Lavitt.  In a nutshell, we’ve heard this all before, Coleman did nothing wrong and is a little angel.

Gary is disgusted and just walked out.

She has no past criminal history.

She has excellent history of employment.

She will again be productive member of society after her term is served.

Lavit wants concurrent sentences for a term of 13.5 years.

Judge Blackwood sounds like he’s leaning more toward the enhancements rather than the mitigating factors.

The psychological torture of this unfortunate victim was immense.

This is a horrible crime, exceptionally cruel and it outweighs any of the mitigators.

Court finds the defendant a dangerous offender.

Being there and doing nothing shows this person is dangerous.

Judge Blackwood hands down 43 years!!!

I am so happy for the families.

  1. David In TN
    02/01/2013 at 4:52 pm

    It appears Blackwood didn’t do the math right on the sentence he was giving. The Knoxville News Sentinel reports the sentence is 35 years, down from 53 the first time. Coleman is eligible for parole in 4.5 years. She gets credit for six years already served.

    By the way, did anybody hear Blackwood use the term “13th Juror?”

    • donchais
      02/01/2013 at 5:19 pm

      Jamie twice reported from court, 43 years…now it’s 35? What changed, do you know?

  2. David In TN
    02/01/2013 at 6:10 pm

    The Knoxville NBC TV Station, WBIR, said:

    “The original story reporting Coleman’s sentence stated that she was sentenced to 41 years. The judge misspoke on the stand while clarifying the sentence. We apologize for any confusion.”

    Both WBIR and the ABC station WATE said it was 41 years in their first report, while Jamie said it was 43. Blackwood caused the confusion.

  3. donchais
    02/01/2013 at 6:17 pm

    Thanks, but rather disturbing on Blackwood’s part!

  4. ritanita
    02/02/2013 at 8:39 am

    Hopefully, she will never get paroled for any of these sentences and does all the years she has left on her sentences. She has no remorse and that’s the first thing any parole board looks for.

    Bless the families, they have one more trial to go, and Vanessa’s future parole hearings.

    It will never end for them.

  5. Anonymous
    02/03/2013 at 12:53 am

    I am in disbelief…the most heinous, awful, sadistic, hateful crime ever committed by a group in this State and this is the outcome for Coleman. My most fervent wish is, as ritanita said above, every parole hearing will end in denial. One thing I have noticed is that, while the victim’s families’ feelings were ignored in court proceedings, a parole board takes them very seriously. Think of the torture for Coleman…getting excited over her parole hearing just to have it knocked out from under her…time after time after time. It makes me almost gleeful. I hope the families can find some measure of peace after the next trial. I know there is no peace for them yet, with one to go. I would imagine they are feeling on shaky ground after what has happened here. I hope the citizens of Knox County make their feelings known and can get something done about the legal shenanigans there.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
