Home > Crime > Christian/Newsom Murders – The Final Chapter

Christian/Newsom Murders – The Final Chapter

06/04/2013

imagesIt’s been a long, painful journey to finally reach the end.  The jury recommend life with parole for George Thomas – a sentence that will see Thomas eligible for parole at age 75.

Today, he will formally be sentenced and all that is left is for Judge Kurtz to pronounce the additional sentence for Thomas’ additional crimes.

All families in court…

Thomas brought in…

Judge Kurtz takes the bench at 1:01pm.

Kurtz says sentencing memos from the 2010 will be entered as exhibits.

Leland Price calls Mary Newsom for additional impact statement.

She says Thomas chose to live with the crime.

Chris’ friends and family have lost a loving, happy person.

She had never should have had to face his naked, charred body.

I have to live with the knowledge of his being beaten, raped and murdered.

Hugh Newsom called.

How Chris died has left scares.

I saw the hurt in your mother’s eyes at trial.  I know she did the best in raising you.

This is the most brutal I’ve seen the families been on impact.  Kurtz is allowing them a great deal of leeway, including allowing them to mention the statements of Coleman, Davidson, and Cobbins.  He does however rule them off record due to judicial issues.

We’ll go home knowing justice has been served, but Chris’ room will always been empty.

I never want to see another family to go though what my family and the Christian’s have gone through.

Your honor, I beg you to sentence in the maximum.

Andrea Bowers called.  Chris’ sister.

Chris was my little brother.

Justice for the victims is that long and hard road.  Our system is all about the defendants and it needs to be fixed!

This happens over and over again.

Why can’t the truth speak for itself!

Enough is enough.  Let’s take some steps to tip the scales in the right direction.

Andrea has so nailed the problems with our system!!!!

She tells Thomas, in the end, he has to face the almighty!

Andrea also asks the judge to never let Thomas out of jail.

Deena Christian up.

She was only 21 when you killed her.

The thought of what you did to her still haunts me.

The hate you must have in your heart to rape, beat, torture, and murder, these two kids is pure evil.

Gary and I regret our failure to protect our daughter.

Channon and Chris were the victims…you gave them no mercy and you shouldn’t receive any.

Deena asks for the maximum.

Gary Christian called.

Gary says the letters you wrote to Cobbins about brotherhood made me want to throw-up.

If you think that this court should give you mercy, you’ve been smoking too many blunts.

You were a coward….you could have left that house and gotten help, but you didn’t.

What you and your friends did changed me.  To my wife and my son, I apologize because I am not the man I used to be because you taught me to hate.

You don’t get to hurt anybody else, not today, not tomorrow.

Thomas showing no emotion, whatsoever.

State asks for the max sentencing.  Exceptional cruelty exhibited in all the charges.

Not being funny here…how much does this hearing really mean?  The judge made up his mind before coming into to this.

Defense says how the factors apply to Thomas should be considered.  He was not the principal actor in the crime.

Kurtz seems to be having trouble with this.

Your statement says he’s remorseful.  I don’t see anything in the record that shows that!

Kurtz ain’t buying the defense!!!

Kurtz chewing and spitting out the defense argument!

Defense doesn’t wants consecutive sentencing; Thomas doesn’t have a long criminal record.

Kurtz says Chris lived up to 5 hours, Channon maybe 24. “Your client has the opportunity to totally digest what was going on here.”

Kurtz says considerable enhancements here and Thomas needs to be responsible.

Enhancement, far outweighs the mitigating factors!

Kurtz going to slam the hammer down on the cruelty and brutality of the crimes.

Consecutive life sentences.

Life, plus life, plus 25, plus another 25!

Dead man walking!

Never let your hearts, minds, and souls forget Channon and Chris – their tragic endings were beyond brutal, they were depravity at it’s worst!

God bless the families and may they finally begin to heal!

  1. MMD
    06/04/2013 at 2:40 pm

    Finally donchais. I take that to mean that George Thomas will never, ever walk the streets again and Channon and Chris can now finally rest in peace.

    • donchais
      06/04/2013 at 2:45 pm

      I’m totally drained, but in my head, doing the happy dance!

      • MMD
        06/04/2013 at 2:50 pm

        Time for you to finally take a break. It’s been an incredibly long haul for you and I know how emotionally involved you get. At the rate that things are going with JA, it looks like you may have the summer to rest up which you surely deserve.

    • Nienna
      06/04/2013 at 2:57 pm

      Ditto w/ MMD! Great job Donchais! Happy you’re doing the happy dance 🙂

  2. Nienna
    06/04/2013 at 3:21 pm

    If anyone is interested…

    http://cgcfoundation.net/

  3. ritanita
    06/04/2013 at 3:27 pm

    Judge Kurtz did a fantastic job. I hope that the families can now breathe out and focus on their own lives. Too many years, too many trials.

    I can’t believe that the defense attorney tried to turn a casual “coulda, woulda, shoulda” in a conversation into remorse.

    Donchais, you’ve done a superb job for the families in covering all the trials. Time for you to breathe out as well.

    • donchais
      06/04/2013 at 3:34 pm

      And, you my dear friend, for propping me up along the way and holding my hand over the last 6 1/2 years! {{{hugs}}}

      • Jo
        06/04/2013 at 4:53 pm

        Thank you Donchais for following these trials to the end. The horror of knowing what their children endured will surely be with them forever. So sad. May God grant them solace and some peace.

  4. FedUp
    06/04/2013 at 3:43 pm

    So glad for these families that this part is over!In all this time they have not missed one court date,over 300 days listening to what was done to their children!This happened not far from my home,the most depraved cruel crime our state has ever seen yet did not make national news!We are left scratching our heads,why?Nothing can ease the pain these families have been through and will continue to go through but pray now they can begin to heal a little.Please pray for the Christian and Newsom families!They have lived a horror you usually read in fiction but for them was real!

  5. David In TN
    06/04/2013 at 4:02 pm

    I’ve attended three of the trials, two sentencing hearings, and one motions hearing. I watched this hearing on the WBIR live stream. Judge Kurtz’s comment about “remorse” was interesting.

    If Thomas really had been frightened into submission and was appalled by what happened, he would have reacted differently in his police interviews. He would have said something like:

    “I saw that punk Boyd rape the dude.” And “The Coleman bitch kicked the girl over and over again.”

    All he said was “woulda, coulda, shoulda,” in a phone call to Stacy Lawson.

  6. ByeByeJA
    06/04/2013 at 4:10 pm

    We need this judge to speak for Travis…..

  7. donchais
    06/04/2013 at 4:18 pm

    “woulda, coulda, shoulda,” should be stricken from the vocabulary.

    • Nienna
      06/04/2013 at 4:32 pm

      Indeed!!

  8. Beans
    06/04/2013 at 5:08 pm

    Thank you Donchais, Thank you prosecutors, thank you Judge Kurtz. I’m not sure I’ll ever get the images of what these kids suffered out of my mind. I hope their families can.

  9. donchais
    06/04/2013 at 8:11 pm

    My most favorite part of the hearing was when Judge Kurtz began taking the defense to task about how cruel and brutal the crimes were and he didn’t see any remorse in Thomas…at that point, Jamie Satterfield, Knoxville Sentinel, tweeted, (paraphrase) “we got ourselves a hanging judge!!!!”

    It wasn’t a hanging judge, but a judge who was willing to step up and do the right thing, judicially!

    Judge Kurtz, enjoy your retirement…you went out in the best way, with the highest moral ground to back you!

    • TerryP
      06/04/2013 at 9:30 pm

      Amen Donchais! This crime has changed our community. I am happy with 3 of the sentences. Would like to have seen VC get more.

    • LadyinRed
      06/05/2013 at 11:40 am

      Amen from your keyboard to our Lord’s ears. Next up, Justice for Travis!

  10. Jill
    06/05/2013 at 9:33 am

    Rest in peace Channon and Chris!
    Hope the families find bits of happiness somehow in life. They will never ever have a normal life again. This breaks my heart the most…every second of every day, the gruesomeness of their children’s deaths will never leave their minds.
    Ty Donchais.

  11. LadyinRed
    06/05/2013 at 11:39 am

    http://www.knoxnews.com/news/2013/jun/04/judges-order-ensures-george-thomas-will-die-in/?partner=popular Hope that Donchais and all who have been following this case from the beginning will watch the embedded video! Justice for Channon and Chris, next up is Justice for Travis!

    • Jill
      06/05/2013 at 1:20 pm

      Ty for that video…

      “Today Channon just turned around and kicked him in the butt.”

      • TerryP
        06/05/2013 at 5:53 pm

        Love it!

    • ritanita
      06/06/2013 at 6:16 am

      Glad to hear Gary say he was “going riding” at the end. He had a lot of support in court from his buddies.

      • Jill
        06/06/2013 at 8:49 am

        Yes! And the Newsom’s said they will take a vacation now.

  12. Dana
    06/05/2013 at 7:06 pm

    Is there any video of the sentencing? I’ve followed this for quite a while and have been horrified all way. Would like to hear the judge…

    • donchais
      06/05/2013 at 7:31 pm

      Try YouTube, under a poster named Croakerqueen, or go to WBIR…parts of it were up a of this morning…Judge Kurtz was superb!!!

  13. Jill
    06/06/2013 at 3:02 am

    Any public addresses for the families? Ty.

  14. 06/06/2013 at 7:33 pm

    “Not being funny here…how much does this hearing really mean? The judge made up his mind before coming into to this.”
    Kurtz didn’t need to hear it, but he needed to allow the families to say it.
    GooD work Donchais….. You have great strength to stay on top,of proceedings after so long.,
    Kudos.

    • ritanita
      06/11/2013 at 8:20 am

      I give great kudos to Judge Kurtz for allowing the family to FINALLY say what was really on their minds.

      I remember an earlier trial where Baumgartner made them edit out so much. Donchais, correct me if I am wrong, but I believe he wouldn’t even let Gary Christian speak.

  15. PATTY
    06/09/2013 at 11:50 pm

    Well done…thanks for all you have done and all you do!!

  16. David In TN
    06/11/2013 at 10:49 am

    I believe Gary Christian spoke at all of the sentencing hearings. I was in the courtroom for the Davidson sentencing and Coleman’s after her first conviction. Both were presided over By Baumgartner in the summer of 2010.

    Before the Davidson sentencing hearing, I was standing near the Newsoms when an employee of the DA’s office went up to them and said “You can let loose” in their victim impact statements.

  17. JesusFreak
    06/13/2013 at 9:35 am

    when i first heard about the horrible events in this case, on this blog, I was literally devastated. I still get chills thinking about the perps. Your blog title aptly names them monsters.. I can not imagine my family members going through this horror. My daughter puts her head in the sand over reality and I have never understood that. Now I do.
    That is the reason you have not seen me here. I would love to inject the killers, or torture them, or shoot them. I might could even do to them what Jodi did to Travis!
    I am so sorry for the parents of both of these dear people. I just wonder what drove these brutes to such horrors.
    I am writing this in some hopes of vindicating myself for leaving you and the other faithfuls in the sandbox alone. Please forgive me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
