Home > Crime > Casey Anthony – Motions Arguments

Casey Anthony – Motions Arguments

03/07/2011

Well, the defense team apparently took the Judge’s admonishment to heart and brought Casey’s clothing to her in a timely manner and she is brought into the courtroom a few minutes before Judge Perry takes the bench.

George and Cindy are in attendance as well. 

Baez read stipulations into the record that he and Linda Drane Burdick had agreed upon.

I took no notes and just observed because frankly I’m pretty tired of this bull crap.  We heard it for three straight days and we all know the drill.

Mason takes center stage and begins closing arguments.

He is sarcastic and basically rants on about how Casey was never read her Miranda rights.  Don’t forget, even though she was cuffed for 3-5 minutes, she was never placed under arrest! Mason continues to embellish and paints a picture of the house and yard crawling with large cops with guns and full uniforms.  Ms. Anthony was patted down and put in the back of a patrol car – a caged area!  She was questioned until 3:30 in the morning.  She was never told she didn’t have to talk to them, she was free to leave, she could have an attorney.  Why wouldn’t she think she was under arrest?  She is a young 22-year-old woman with no prior experience with LE.

For God’s sake, at that point LE and the family was concerned with a missing child!  All the were trying to do was find a little girl!

He then goes into the trip to Universal and how this tiny woman was questioned by three large men in a 10×10 conference room with the door closed!  She didn’t know she wasn’t being detained!

Pardon me?  We’ve all heard the tape of the interview.  She was explicitly told the door was closed for privacy and she was free to leave!  Also let’s not forget, all this time, Casey – enjoying the attention – repeatedly agreed to cooperate and help LE find Caylee!

Mason goes on to cite several legal cases regarding Miranda which he provided for the Judge!

Next he addresses how George, Cindy and Lee were agents of the State.  They were duped by LE and repeatedly asked to get information from Casey for them! 

Mason dramatically appears horrified that LE was rude enough to question Mr. Baez’s ability and reputation!  He asks, ‘how dare they’.

Not much more to say that you haven’t already heard during the hearings!

Linda Drane Burdick begins the State’s argument by taking issue with the way the defense took many of the statements in their argument out of context.

She makes her case that Casey was never under arrest and reading the statements and transcripts clearly indicates that Casey was told numerous times she was free to leave.  She was several times left alone in the home.  Casey was also a willing and cooperative participant in trying to find her daughter.

She makes the point that if police are responding to a 911 call, a reasonable person would expect to be questioned.

With her usual professionalism, Linda takes the Judge through some case-law about whether being placed in cuffs automatically means you are under arrest.

What I found very interesting is the case-law referred to by both Mason and Burdick was already well know to the Judge! He did study all weekend! He was able to name the cases off the top of his head!  Impressive, indeed!

Linda refutes each and every point that Mason brought up in his argument.

I have to say, Linda’s version is far closer to what I remember reading in the reports or heard on the recordings than what was presented by the defense.

Again, I took no notes because with the exception of the case-law, everything was already said last week, but Linda rocked as always!

Mason responds sarcastically and is his usual obnoxious self!

Judge Perry says he will have an answer close to the end of next week!

4:15 p.m. he leaves the bench!

  1. Jo
    03/07/2011 at 4:36 pm

    I am so glad you got your comments out so quickly. Short, and to the point. You should give Mr. Cheyney a lesson. My head hurts listening to him. I so agree with you. I did think he was sarcastic. Because I definitely believe Casey Anthony is responsible, directly or indirectly, for her daughter’s death, I sometimes feel that I am not not fair to the defense. I DO try but after today, where CM tried to get “folksy” with the judge and he referred to CA as a young “girl”, I lost it totally. She was 22 and listening to those tapes from interviews, she is sly, cunning and could handle herself quite well. I suspect she was not in the least intimated by those “BIG COPS” with guns. I remember Scott Peterson playing “catch me if you can” with LE. There is a certain personality that allows you to be so calm with three BIG COPS in a closed room. I have only been stopped once for an expired inspection sticker and when the officer pulled me over I was shaking so bad I could not even find my license in my wallet. He could see how upset I was, and kindly told me not to worry and get the car inspected. If police ever came to my home for a serious reason, family would need to take me to the hospital. As always, I enjoy your commentary!

  2. donchais
    03/07/2011 at 4:48 pm

    Thanks Jo! I actually had to force myself to sit through that today and just think – we’ll hear it all again at trial probably because I honestly don’t believe the defense wins on this one!

    Yup, the sarcasm and rudeness to Linda, LE and the Judge as well as the poor, tiny, little girl Casey pretty much pissed me off!

  3. kas
    03/07/2011 at 6:07 pm

    It’s as if Mason says: “I’m gonna get up there and do my best ‘Old-South Southern Lawyer’ routine. All that was missing was a hand held fan.

    LOVED the part at the end where Linda quoted Casey saying LE had arrested her on a whim. So much for that dark plot with their Agents of the State.

  4. donchais
    03/07/2011 at 6:17 pm

    LMAO! One of the TV stations apologized because of Linda reading Casey’s ‘effin whim’ statement verbatim! That kinda tickled me, lol!

  5. Ivys Grama
    03/07/2011 at 9:07 pm

    Your presentation, without notes, was as informed and well written as any I have read. The defense can go nowhere we haven’t already heard, because they were so ‘LOUD’ with the media. It is so apparent that Jose and the inmate are ‘alike people’ in the way that they present themselves. The defendant looked a little more thoughtful, today, not her flippant self. And Jose was not his normal obnoxious smirky self.They are not a good combination as today it showed itself in the uncommunication of the two of them. Their defense is always the same, trying to take the focus off of Little Caylee and put it AGAIN on the inmate. (I should say the ‘little’ inmate…) Caylees spirit has once again had the fact that lots of people cared that she was ‘missing’, changed by her egg donor for her own self serving purposes. Ugh, this woman!!! Anyway, thought you said it correctly, and thank you for it.

  6. 03/07/2011 at 10:29 pm

    Wow those pictures are something else of Casey and her parents. Casey looks great compared to them. That just blows me away. And I don’t like her baby looking t-shirt. She needed to tuck it in. Really!

    Doesn’t Baez and Mason read statements? They get it all wrong. All of it. I swear, they appear to want to lose this case instead of win it.

  7. donchais
    03/08/2011 at 4:40 am

    Thanks Ivys Grama! I did have to wonder if little Casey may be realizing this is not some fun walk in the park. She never once looked up while Linda was at the podium. Maybe she is getting it that her statements and those of her parents are going to sink her!

    Yes shyloh, the Ants look like hell while Casey looks like she hasn’t a care in the world! The lack of preparation is why we hear so many ‘mis-statements’ from Mason and Baez!

  8. 03/08/2011 at 6:57 am

    I am curious, why didn’t the State present to the court the taped interviews with Casey at the home and from the University? The tapes will straighten out Mr. Cheney’s forgetfulness. Or in this case, they would bring out the facts in this case.

  9. donchais
    03/08/2011 at 7:04 am

    shyloh, I’m pretty sure the transcripts of the interviews are in the package given to Judge Perry and I’m pretty sure the defense isn’t gonna win this one!

  10. 03/08/2011 at 7:18 am

    donchais, I forgot all about the transcripts. That’s could very well be true and thank you and I pray you are correct that the “defense isn’t gonna win this one!”

  11. ritanita
    03/08/2011 at 10:29 am

    I hope that LDB also turned over the audio of the interviews with Casey. While they may not add more information for Perry’s ruling based on legal precedent, the TONE of these interviews are also important. Perry needs to hear the call from Casey to her mother the first night she was in jail. It will show she is not a “naive child” who was intimidated by LE. Melich’s audio recording will show that the defense and Cindy Anthony were way off the mark when they stated that Melich intimidated Casey. The last audio, of the Universal interview will, as you have said, will tell the judge the facts vs. the fiction of the defense claims.

    As for the 10×10 interrogation room, the picture clearly shows it was furnished as a lounge with a sofa and chairs. After hearing Mason’s description I had imagined it was a tiny room with a bright light shining in Casey,s face as the three huge “gorillas” pounded at her from across a table!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.